NAGARA Annual Awards Program

Annually, NAGARA recognizes leaders and innovators in the field of government archives and records management with our Annual Awards Program. This is a great opportunity to celebrate the achievements of your associates and friends in NAGARA.

Each award has unique requirements for eligibility and criteria for selection. Do you know a colleague that has found creative ways to further diversity, equity, and inclusion? Is there someone who deserves recognition for a significant contribution to NAGARA or the profession? Award recipients will be recognized at the 2022 NAGARA Annual Meeting Awards Luncheon and will be featured on the NAGARA website and social media throughout the year. 

Click on the tabbed headings below to learn more about each of NAGARA's annual awards.

Also to consider: 

 Recipients of NAGARA's annual awards program reap benefits in numerous ways: 

  • Government, state and local representatives all enjoy when good things happen in their communities and to their constituents. These awards confirm that good things are happening; 
  • Acknowledgement from peers as well as a national professional organization creates notability from the recipient's office and agency; 
  • Award recipients obtain extra opportunities for press releases and photo-ops to draw attention to their respective archival and records programs. The award even opens doors for recipients to be acknowledged at a regular public meeting of their government; 
  • Recipients receive bragging rights, thus calling attention to our profession and the important work we do; and
  • The award promotes the recipient’s program/agency and may be used to introduce new users to their collections and public services. 

Submitting Nominations

Nominations must include the name(s) and contact information of the nominee, the name and contact information of the nominator, an abstract not to exceed 200 words, and a narrative statement of 500 – 1500 words indicating why this person/program should receive the award. Endorsement letters, news articles, and other supporting documentation may also be submitted along with the letter of nomination.

The submission period for 2023 will remain open through Friday, March 31, 2023

Emerging Leader Award

Award Description

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes and encourages early-career archivists or records managers at the local, state, or federal level of government who have demonstrated significant promise of leadership, have completed archival/records management work of merit, and or have performed commendable service to the archives/records management profession.

Past Award Recipients:

2022 - Mackenzie Stone, Government Records Manager, Idaho State Archives
- Catheryne N. Popovitch, Archival Program Administrator, Illinois State Archives

Selection Criteria

This award is open to all NAGARA members who have between two and ten years of professional archives/records management experience within the government sector. In selecting the successful nominee, consideration will be given to contributions to the profession, leadership qualities, and outreach and advocacy efforts.  Such criteria may include but are not restricted to the following:

  • Contributions to the Profession
    • Made a substantive contribution to an area (or areas) of the archives/records management profession beyond the nominee’s local institution.
    • The substantive contribution to the profession holds promise for future contributions.

  • Leadership Qualities
    • Demonstrated leadership through collaborative work or exemplary service to local, state and/or national archives/records management programs.
    • Promotes inclusiveness in professional activities and community partnerships. 

  •  Outreach and advocacy
    • Engaged in outreach and advocacy efforts on behalf of the nominee’s institution and the archives/records management profession.

No content found

No content found

No content found