(201-WEBINAR) "Getting Started with Accessibility and WCAG"

This webinar presentation will break the "WCAG" into four easy to understand principles, show how you can apply them in your everyday work, and review some high-level testing tools and tips to check for website accessibility.

 

DATE & TIME: Tuesday, February 8, 2022 | 1:00pm ET, 12:00pm CT, 11:00am MT, 10:00am PT

DURATION: 45-60 Minutes

PRICE: FREE for Members; $29.00 for Non-Members

CREDITS: Preapproved for 1 CEU (ARMA International), 1 ARC (ACA), and 1 GARA Study Hour (GARA Certificate Program)

 GARA CERTIFICATE CORE COMPETENCY AREA(S): "Advocacy & Outreach"

OVERVIEW: We all want to make the web more accessible and user friendly, but knowing where to start can be difficult. In 2018, the U.S. federal government recognized the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) as the standard for evaluating online accessibility, and now requires all federal agencies and contracts to meet these guidelines. Whether you're a content creator or website manager, understanding the WCAG can help you create better webpages and documents, as well as advocate for better tools from vendors.

In this webinar presentation, we'll break the WCAG into four easy to understand principles, and show how you can apply them in your everyday work. We'll also go over some high-level testing tools and tips to check for accessibility.

Learning objectives include:

1. Learn about the WCAG through the POUR Principle (Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, Robust)
2. Understand how to write web content and Word documents that are accessible to screen readers
3. See how to test Word documents, presentations, and PDFs for accessibility
4. Learn how to do a high-level accessibility test of a webpage to evaluate color contrast, structure, and navigation

PRESENTER:


    Sara Belmont
Web Developer
William & Mary Libraries


SPONSOR:
 Pending

 IMPORANT NOTE ABOUT REGISTRATION: You must select the "Proceed to Checkout" button and "submit" your registration on the next page in order for your registration do be confirmed. You will know your registration has been successfully received when you obtain an "Order Confirmation" from NAGARA. If you don't receive this "Order Confirmation" e-mail confirmation, please be sure to submit your order again. If you experience any problems during registration, please contact [email protected]

When
2/8/2022 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Eastern Standard Time
Where
Comfort of Your Home or Office
In order to register for this event, members must sign-in to the website (top of page). If you are not a member of NAGARA, or you don't already have a user account, please create a free account below, or  JOIN NAGARA and take advantage of the generous member registration pricing discount!

Create an Account

Username
The password must be at least 7 characters long and contain both letters and numbers.